Clean & Simple Scrapbooking | Cathy Zielske

I started scrapping digitally in 2005-2006 & stopped shortly after because of a slow laptop which was making the whole process of putting pages together tedious and a real pain instead of being a freeing creative outlet. I didn’t scrap at all for a few years, until I got a brand new faster more powerful laptop in 2011.
That’s when I started scrapping again. Like crazy. I scrapped like I used to in my last pages from 2006-2007 : with few embellishments, no clusters, usually on a white background, focusing on the photos, the story, the people and not on the products used to make the page. Back then I remember I was feeling like I wasn’t really scrabooking because my pages were so different from what I could see in the galleries. But in 2011 I discovered that it’s ok to scrap like I did and loved to, that I wasn’t alone doing this and that it even had a name : clean & simple scrapbooking. How cool was that ?! That’s when I stumbled (among other things) upon Cathy Zielske’s blog and fell in love with her voice, her pages, her style. I tried to buy her books, but with the shipping costs from the US, there was no way I could afford them and I couldn’t find them on amazon.fr at the time.
Cathy Zielske just launched her new website, revamped her brand and I’ve enjoyed tremendously her series of blog posts Anatomy of a Rebrand in which she shares about her scrapbooking journey and how it led her to rebranding (part 1part 2part 3wrap up). These posts are probably the reason I checked her books again. I found used copies (but in good or even very good condition, I’m a bit OCD when it comes to books) and since the seller is located in the UK the shipping costs are not that bad (actually I think that I got a pretty good deal there since both used books + shipping was less than half the cost of one book new !!).
That’s why, as of this morning I am now the lucky owner of Clean & Simple Scrapbooking – The Sequel by Cathy Zielske. The other book, which is actually the first one she wrote, will soon be delivered.

cs

cs2
So far, I’ve just flipped through but I can already see that it’s full of everything I wanted, needed. It seems very inspirational and I have « no ragrets » *wink* about buying this book, naw what I’m sayin🙂 ?!

2 réflexions sur “Clean & Simple Scrapbooking | Cathy Zielske

    • Je ne crois pas que l’apport de ce livre puisse se mesurer en « choses nouvelles » et certainement pas en termes de techniques nouvelles. Des rappels de principes de base de design font partie du livre mais je pense que ce ne sont justement que des rappels. Ce que j’ai aimé, c’est le partage de sa philosophie et de son approche et ce que ça fait résonner, ou pas (mais dans mon cas ça résonne grave), chez le lecteur; c’est d’ailleurs ce que certains lui reprochent dans les critiques sur amazon, confondant « partage » et « voilà comment il faut faire »… chez moi ça touche une corde sensible, ça me parle ce qu’elle écrit et ses pages sont très inspirantes (j’en ai noté plusieurs dans un coin de carnet pour les lifter ensuite). Si on lit son blog depuis le début, je ne suis pas sûre qu’on ne se retrouve pas en terrain hyper familier, elle ne réinvente pas la roue dans ce livre mais moi je l’aime beaucoup et je ne regrette pas mon achat (ceci étant, vu mon budget, j’aurais peut-être regretté d’avoir payé plein pot pour l’avoir neuf… là, en occasion et en super bon état, je n’émets aucune réserve !).
      Je peux poster le sommaire, si ça t’intéresse…

Laisser un commentaire

